July Reading

I really slacked on reading this month.  Usually I’ll finish a few books a month, but I only actually finished one book and started another.  The book I started at the beginning of the month had kind of a slow start, and I hate reading multiple books at once, so I was determined to finish the first one.  And when I was on vacation last week, I finally finished it and had the opportunity to get my hands on a new one!  So here is what I’ve read this past month:

Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter

This is the book that took me forever to read.  To get me wrong, it was actually pretty good and I liked it, it just took awhile for the story to get off the ground.  Once the story started to pick up though, I actually really enjoyed it!

This book is about an Italian man who had an American actress visit his hotel in his small Italian town in the 1960s.  She disappeared soon after, and he is now trying to find her again present day.  I went to Italy the summer before my senior year of high school and fell in love with it, so when I found that the majority of the story took place in Italy, it definitely peaked my interest.  Like I said, it’s a little hard to get into at the beginning, but once the scene is set and the story picks up, it’s an easy summer read!

First Women: The Grace and Power of America’s Modern First Ladies by Kate Anderson Brower

I just started this book at the end of my D.C. trip because after exploring the White House and the First Ladies exhibit in the American History Museum, I became seriously interested in the first ladies.  I’m not quite finished with it yet, but I’m loving this book and it is so so interesting to me.

The book goes through what each first lady went through in the White House from Jackie Kennedy to Michelle Obama.  I’m learning so much more about first ladies that I never even knew the names of, and even more about my favorite first ladies (ahem, Jackie Kennedy).  I know this will definitely not be the first book about first ladies that I read, but I am already loving this one!

If anyone has book suggestions feel free to let me know!  I’m always up for new books!

xoxo, Hannah

Leave a Reply

