Florida Trip 2017

My amazing boyfriend and his family invited me to go to Fort Lauderdale, Florida with him and his family from June 29 – July 3.  I had gone on vacation with his family last year, so I was super excited to be going again!

Day 1: June 29

Our flight left bright and early at 9:00 am, but we were all so excited that we didn’t care about having to get up super early!  We landed around 1, grabbed our bags, took an uber to our hotel, and immediately changed and headed to the pool!

IMG_3597IMG_3598

We had a late lunch at the restaurant right next to the pool, where Kyle and I split a southwestern chicken sandwich, and headed back to the pool.

That night, we went to a place no one had been to for dinner before, Shooters, where I had a delicious lobster roll and french fries for dinner, and Kyle and I split a chocolate peanut butter bar for dessert that was to die for.

IMG_3602IMG_3603

Top: Francesca’s Jeans: American Eagle Shoes: Tory Burch Necklace Kendra Scott

When we got back to the hotel, Kyle and I took a nice walk on the beach before coming back to the hotel room and crashing after our long day!

Day 2: June 30

Kyle and I decided to take some pictures for our Instagram after starting our day with a breakfast of Starbucks.

fullsizeoutput_13f4IMG_3604

We then started our day at the beach for the first time this trip!

IMG_3609

The little roped off area that you can see is a sea turtle nest!  There were a few of them around our beach which was so cool!

Kyle then talked me into doing something I had never done before: parasailing!  I was both incredibly nervous and excited, and ended up absolutely loving it!  The view was breathtaking, although I wasn’t too fond of how high up we were.

When we came down from our flight, we went back to the pool-side restaurant for lunch.  This time I got a chicken caesar salad which I also loved.

IMG_3611.JPG

After lunch we decided to head to the pool until dinner, where I discovered that I was incredibly burnt.  Seriously, I could barely even move my shoulders because they were in so much pain!  Lesson learned: remember to reapply sunscreen!

For dinner that night, we went to a restaurant we had gone to the year before called Coconuts, and was looking forward to their chicken caesar salad for dinner (yes I had it for lunch, and no I do not have a problem).  Kyle’s mom even bought me a margarita to help with the pain of my sunburn!

For dinner I had my salad, and for dessert we all shared a piece of key lime pie.  We then took a short walk down the Fort Lauderdale strip before heading back to the hotel and going to bed.

Day 3: July 1

Today we all started our day by doing a quick workout in the hotel gym before breakfast.  Yes, I know, we’re crazy.  But honestly I felt so great for the rest of the day.

We started at the pool before heading over to the beach.  I kept my shoulders under the water the whole time at the pool, and sat on a lounge chair the whole time at the beach because of my severely burnt shoulders.  I wanted to have fun with everyone, but honestly I was just too burnt!

Tonight, we all drove 45 minutes south to South Miami Beach for dinner, shopping, and some time on the strip.

IMG_3612IMG_3615

Romper: Target Shoes: Tory Burch

Notice my incredibly red shoulders!

As soon as we got to Miami, we headed to the Yard Bird for dinner.  Guys, this was our favorite meal of the trip!  The biscuits alone are reason enough to go there!

I had the preacher’s biscuits which were biscuits, ham, and cheese and delicious!

fullsizeoutput_13f5fullsizeoutput_1438IMG_3618

For dessert we all split two things: the candied bacon cake and Nutella beignets.  Oh. My. God.  The beignets were to die for.  Seriously if you ever go to Yard Bird, you have to try them, no matter how full you are!

After dinner Kyle, his mom and I went to what I was most looking forward to in Miami: Dash!  In case you don’t know, Dash is the boutique owned by Kourtney, Kim, and Khloe Kardashian and there are only four locations in the US: Calabasas, New York, Los Angeles, and Miami.  I had never been before and was dying to go!

IMG_3622

Guys, my Kardashian obsessed heart was in heaven.  Although I’m not super proud of it, I bought an $80 sweatshirt.  But look at it, it’s amazing!!!!

IMG_3633

We then parked our rental car, and walked along the South Beach strip!

IMG_3620

The strip was absolutely insane, but so cool and fun to see!  I seriously can not wait until I turn 21 and then I can come back and really enjoy the strip!

We made the 45 minute drive back to Fort Lauderdale before crashing and getting ready for our last full day.

Day 4: July 2

We started our last full day with another workout before heading to the beach for the day.  Although still burnt, I wanted to enjoy our final day.  So I hung out in the pool with a delicious mudslide before heading to the pool-side restaurant for lunch one last time.  Today, I got a caprese flat bread which was my favorite meal I’ve had at the restaurant the whole trip!  Of course I didn’t discover it until the last day, though.

IMG_3623

We then headed over to the beach for the last time of the trip.  Again, I braved the sun and headed into the ocean to enjoy myself on our last day!

Tonight for dinner, we headed to a pretty famous Mexican restaurant called Rocco’s Tacos.  We had some frozen margaritas from the bar while we waited for our table to be ready, and as soon as we sat down we knew that we had to order their signature guacamole.

This was no joke the best guac I had ever had.  Ever.  I literally only ordered one chicken taco because I filled up so much on the guacamole, and it was so worth it.

For dessert we ordered churros with ice cream that were also delicious!  It was the perfect way to end our last day!

When we got back to the hotel, Kyle and I took our last night walk on the beach before crashing.

Day 5: July 3

Our flight didn’t leave until 3, so we still had a pretty good amount of time on this day.  When we checked into our hotel on the first day, we received vouchers for each of us to eat free at the buffet at the restaurant in the hotel, and we decided to use them on this day.  This buffet was seriously amazing!  I had eggs benedict, pastries, oatmeal, fruit, and some delicious Florida orange juice!

As soon as we finished breakfast, Kyle, his brother, and I headed back to the room to pack and head down to the pool for an hour or two before we had to get ready to go.  It was sad sitting by the pool for the last time, but my poor sunburnt self knew that it was definitely time to be back in the Midwest!

After we finished up packing, we ordered an uber to the airport where we ate some Auntie Anne’s pretzels for lunch and watched The Office until it was time to board our flight.

Thank you guys so much for reading this post!  I had the best time in Florida, and can not wait to go on vacation with my own family very soon!

xoxo, Hannah

Leave a Reply

