June Favorites

Even though we’re already partly through July (crazy!), I’m still going to share what I’ve been loving throughout June with you all!

This month, since it was the first full month of summer, everything that I’ve been loving has been TV or book related.  I’ve been doing a lot of reading lately since I never have time to at school, and catching up on TV shows that I’ve been watching on Netflix and Hulu.

1. “Wonder” by R.J. Palacio

I saw a trailer for a new movie coming out this year called “Wonder” and when I found out it was a book, I knew that I had to read it.  I talked a little bit about this book in this earlier post, so check it out for some more reading suggestions!

2. “Suburban Junky” by Jude Hassan

Another book, but this one is insanely good, and probably my favorite book that I have read so far this summer.  It’s a true story of a high school boy (Jude himself) who discovers heroin and how the drug takes over his life.  The story takes place in my hometown of St. Louis, making this book even more interesting to me.  It’s less than 200 pages, and I read it in literally less than 2 days.  I read the first half when I wasn’t busy at work and the second half on my plane ride to Florida the next day!

3. “The Handmaid’s Tale”

When I saw this Hulu original show all over social media, I was immediately interested and knew that I had to read the book and then watch the series.  The book by Margaret Atwood was written in 1986 and is about a post apocalyptic America where women are having a hard time getting pregnant.  These families are given a fertile handmaid, someone that their husbands have sex with in hopes that the family will have a child of their own.  The book gets off to a slow start, but this interesting world kept me captivated!  As soon as I finished the book I started the Hulu series.  Although there are multiple differences, I finished the show in just a few weeks (because Hulu doesn’t release the series all at once like Netflix does) and am seriously hoping for a second season!

4. Broad City

I had seen gifs from this show all over tumblr for the past few years, but had never really had the desire to watch it.  Until my boyfriend was over one day, telling me that one of his friends showed him the show and begged me to watch an episode with him.  Having no desire to watch the show, I tried to get him to pick a different show but he insisted.  Oh my god, I was cracking up!  I watched all three seasons on Hulu in like a week and can’t wait for it to come back on Comedy Central in August!

5. Neutrogena Oil Free Eye Makeup Remover

The only non TV or book related thing in my favorites this month lol.  I’ve been really struggling trying to find a makeup remover that doesn’t make me breakout for the past year.  I’ve tried what feels like everything, but no matter what, I was getting terrible breakouts that made me embarrassed to leave my house without makeup on.  At Target a few weeks ago, I just grabbed one I hadn’t tried and hoped for the best.  After using this makeup remover just once, my skin actually cleared up!  I seriously could not believe it and will probably be using this remover from now on!

What have you been loving this past month?

xoxo, Hannah

Leave a Reply

