Summer Reading

Along with working quite a lot and getting ready for my three (yes, three!) trips I have planned this summer, I’ve been doing a lot of reading.  I have always loved to read, and unfortunately, I don’t have a lot of extra time during the school year to read.  I try to make up for it over the summer and read as much as I can.  So today I am sharing with you the books that I have already finished so far this summer, and what I am currently reading.

Talking As Fast As I Can: From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls and Everything In-between by Lauren Graham

love Gilmore Girls.  I watched the entire series at the beginning of my freshman year of college and finished it in about two months.  And when Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life came out on Netflix, you bet that my mom and I watched all four episodes the day that they came out.  When I read in People Magazine that Lauren Graham had released an autobiography talking about her life and Gilmore Girls, I knew that I had to read it.  And it was amazing.  Graham kept a journal during the filming of the Gilmore Girls reboot and it is written in her book along with so many other behind the scenes information.  If you are a Gilmore Girls fan, you have to read this!

Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen

This book is a little more directed towards a teenage audience, but I still absolutely loved it.  It’s about a girl who’s best friend is going through some serious tough issues: her boyfriend dies in a motorcycle accident and she then finds out that she is pregnant with his child.  All while being a junior in high school.  Although a typical young adult novel, I read this book in just a few days and still highly enjoyed it.

Wonder by R.J. Palacio

When I saw the trailer for this movie and that it’s originally a book, I knew immediately that I had to read it.  And it was so good.  It’s about a ten-year-old boy who was born with a genetic deformity, resulting in multiple surgeries and an incredibly deformed face.  He is going to school for the first time in his life, and it is the story of his first year in fifth grade.  I laughed, I cried, and I absolutely loved this book.

All the Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo

I first heard of this book in People, and immediately added it to my reading list.  But after seeing recommendations for it in theSkimm newsletter and so many other places, I knew it would be my next read.  And it was captivating.  This book is about a girl and her first love, and how they keep running into each other and finding each other throughout the years to come.

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

This book has been on my list for years and I have just recently bit the bullet and decided to finally get it removed from my list.  I’m exactly half way through and I am loving it!  I can’t wait to watch the movie once I finish the book after hearing for years how amazing it is!

I will continue to give my reviews as I finish books this summer, and if any of you have any recommendations on what I should read, leave a comment and let me know!

Until next time, xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

