A Weekend In Kansas City 2017

Hello everyone!  Back with yet another travel post!

So my boyfriend, Kyle, goes to school in Kansas City, Missouri, and I was supposed to drive down and visit him during the last weekend of my spring break.  Since I had just been to Disney a few days before, it would have been a lot more money on gas and food when I really couldn’t afford it, so unfortunately I had to cancel on him.

But on Friday morning, my mom called me saying one of her co-workers was driving down to Kansas City to visit her daughter and asked if I wanted to go with her.  So of course I said yes!  So the trip was back on!!!

I had never been to KC, but I had heard so many good things about it and was so excited both to see the city and to see Kyle!  Plus he was happy that I got to come for the weekend!

On the way down on Friday we saw this absolutely beautiful sunset:

IMG_3332

I arrived around 8:30 because it’s around a 4 hour drive from St. Louis.  I went out with Kyle and his friends that night and had such a good time!  It was so cool to be able to meet the people he had been telling me about and to even see some of the people I had gone to high school with.

On Saturday, we spent the morning at The Plaza.  The Plaza is a large high end shopping area with shops and restaurants, and it was the best way to spend the morning!  We had breakfast at Starbucks and then shopped around the whole Plaza for hours before grabbing a bite to eat at a cafe in The Plaza.  I was so proud of myself because I only bought one thing when I was SO tempted by so many things!

After The Plaza, we drove over to the Kansas City Art Museum and oh my gosh this place was amazing!  We both loved this place and I would seriously want to go back.  There was even a real mummy in the Egyptian exhibit!  I was so in awe.  They also had a remake of a Roman courtyard that made me feel like I was in Harry Potter!  And the best part?  The whole museum was free!

The view from the front of the museum was also breathtaking:

IMG_3333IMG_3336IMG_3338

Next, we drove to the World War I Museum.  Unfortunately, we did not go through because we did not want to pay the price of admission, but at the monument is a gorgeous view of downtown in the city, and that was the main reason we went over there!

fullsizeoutput_127aIMG_3335

You can see me sporting my one purchase that I made at The Plaza!

We also saw two wedding parties taking pictures there and it was so cute!  It was an absolutely perfect day for a wedding as well!

Next, we wanted to head downtown to find the famous art murals that literally everyone takes pictures at.  I love a good photo op and these things are SO cute!

IMG_3340IMG_3339151F55C4-FC8F-44ED-B196-2C76949B2247

We then headed back to his dorm to chill out before we went to dinner that night.  We ate downtown in the Power and Lights District at a place called Yard House that we both really loved!  We also saw that there was an Insomnia Cookies about a block away, so obviously we had to hit that up for our favorite Deluxe Smores Cookie!

We also walked along the Power and Lights District to look at all the beautiful lights and night life and let me tell you, it was beautiful!

IMG_3344IMG_3345

We then started walking to the car and decided on a whim to see Beauty and the Beast (check out my previous post)!  Spoiler alert: It was amazing.

We then headed back to his dorm to catch some sleep before I had to leave the next day ):

We didn’t do anything on Sunday except grab some breakfast at Panera.  Then I packed up and waited for my ride to text me and say she was ready to go!

I had such a great time at Kansas City, and I LOVED doing all of the touristy things around the city.  Even in my own home town, I love to be a tourist and see everything that the city has to offer.

Thanks so much for reading and have a great rest of your week!

Leave a Reply

