Walt Disney World Travel Diary 2017

Hi everyone!  Back again with another travel post!

Last week my mom, grandma, and I took a short girls trip to Disney World for Spring Break!  It was pretty spontaneous and last minute: the trip wasn’t even booked until January!  My mom had some meetings for work down in Orlando, so my grandma and I flew down to meet my mom after her meetings.

At least, that was the plan anyways.  My grandma and I had a flight to Nashville at 7:55.  We would stay on the plane, and then take off for Orlando, arriving sometime after midnight.  Well, when we landed in Nashville, there was a huge thunderstorm, with hail and everything.  Once everyone was unloaded, we were told we would have to wait for the plane to get inspected since there was hail before we could re-load the plane and take off.  This put us pretty behind schedule, and we didn’t get to meet my mom at the hotel until 3:30 am.  Even though the travel day wasn’t as successful as it could have been, we were too excited about our first day in the parks the next day (or, in just a few hours!) to let us stress too much about it.

Day 1: Magic Kingdom and Dinner at 1900 Park Fair

We ended up being ready and out the door by 11, which is pretty good for going to sleep around 4 AM!

IMG_3264IMG_3265IMG_3266IMG_3259IMG_3258

Our goal was to do more snacking than meal eating this trip, so we stopped at our favorite quick service restaurant: Gaston’s Tavern in New Fantasyland!  We’re all so obsessed with LeFou’s Brew and the cinnamon roll.  Plus, it’s HUGE.  This time we also tried the ham and cheese stuffed pretzel which was also amazing.

IMG_3267

Tangled is one of my favorite Disney movies and Rapunzel is my favorite princess, so obviously I’m obsessed with the Tangled bathrooms!  My mom and I tried throughout the trip to find all 10 hidden Pascals, but we could only find 5.

IMG_3268IMG_3269

We also stopped for my favorite snack: a dole whip!

IMG_3273

We also got to meet Rapunzel and Tiana, who I’ve never met before!

IMG_3275IMG_3276

And the last ride before we headed out was one that I hadn’t done in almost a decade: The Mad Tea Party!

IMG_3277

We then boarded a boat and headed to our dinner reservation at the Grand Floridian.  I had never been here before, and this resort is absolutely beautiful!  No wonder why it’s the most expensive resort on property!

IMG_3278IMG_3279IMG_3280

We ate at 1900 Park Fair, a buffet where you get to meet characters from Cinderella!  We loved the character interaction, especially sine we had never met any of these characters before, but the food was just okay and families with kids would probably enjoy this meal more.

IMG_3284IMG_3285IMG_3281IMG_3283

Day 2: Hollywood Studios, Disney Springs, and Magic Kingdom

This day was our Hollywood Studios day, but unfortunately I didn’t take any pictures.  Oops.  However, I know my mom and I did Rock n’ Roller Coaster in the standby line, then headed over to see Muppet Vision 3D.  We then went to our Toy Story Mania fast passes.  My grandma loved the ride so much, we did it again in the standby line!  My mom and I then used our Tower of Terror fast passes before grabbing some snacks from a bakery to take back to the room.  The plan now was to chill in the room for an hour and head to Disney Springs for lunch and shopping.

However, all three of us failed to nap during this hour and therefore became incredibly cranky incredibly quickly.  We looked through a few shops, but we mainly just needed to eat and go back to sleep!  We ate at Blaze Pizza and got some dessert at Sprinkles Cupcakes.

IMG_3286IMG_3287IMG_3288

We all had a nap and woke up feeling SO much better!  My mom ended up scoring some Seven Dwarfs Mine Train fast passes for 10:00 at night, and we were now totally ready for our night in Magic Kingdom!

IMG_3289IMG_3290

Day 3: Kona Breakfast and EPCOT

This morning was a breakfast I had been looking forward to since we booked it: Kona in the Polynesian.  I forgot to take pictures of our food, but we all LOVED what we got and Kona is famous for multiple breakfast dishes.  I got the pineapple macadamia nut pancakes, my mom got eggs benedict over pulled pork, and my grandma got a breakfast platter.  We then boarded a monorail and headed over to EPCOT.  We used our fast passes on Spaceship Earth and Soarin’, rode Living With The Land, and then headed to eat our way around World Showcase!

IMG_3291IMG_3292IMG_3293

We loved absolutely everything we got around the world, and I highly recommend them!  In Norway we got the School Bread and a Troll Horn, in Germany we got a bratwurst and baked mac and cheese, and in France I got a snack that I had been looking forward to for a long time: the chocolate macaron ice cream sandwich.

IMG_3296

I highly recommend!  It was also Flower and Garden Festival while we were there, so there were special booths set up around various countries that serve food you can’t normally get there.  We stopped at a booth in the United Kingdom and got a lemon scone which was so delicious!  I wanted to rest up and then do Magic Kingdom at night again, but my mom and I decided that we would rather go to Magic Kingdom rope drop at 8 AM the next morning so we could do standby for my favorite ride: Space Mountain!

I am a HUGE chicken nugget enthusiast, and I learned that Disney World chicken nuggets are the best chicken nuggets, and I had them like 3 times throughout the trip!

fullsizeoutput_1278

Day 4: Magic Kingdom and Animal Kingdom

My mom and I got up bright and early to be at Magic Kingdom before 8 AM to do Space Mountain and some of our other favorite rides.  We rode Space Mountain, Splash Mountain, Big Thunder Mountain Railroad, Pirates of the Caribbean, and Haunted Mansion.  And we did all of this in the span of an hour and a half!

My grandma then met up with us and we ate some breakfast at Sleepy Hollow to get some waffle sandwiches!

IMG_3299

We hung around Magic Kingdom for a little while longer, and had to grab a LeFou’s Brew before heading to Animal Kingdom.

IMG_3300

Once at Animal Kingdom, we headed over to our late lunch reservation at one of our favorite places: Yak and Yeti.

IMG_3301

Our favorite dessert on property is here: mango pie!  We then headed over for our first fast pass of the day: Kilimanjaro Safaris.

IMG_3304IMG_3309fullsizeoutput_1279IMG_3312IMG_3316IMG_3317

We then used fast passes for Festival of the Lion King, which we had never seen before, and Expedition Everest.  We did some shopping before heading out of the park.  We were leaving the next day and were planning on doing rope drop at Magic Kingdom again to get the most out of our day before getting picked up at 3:00, so we wanted a relaxing night.  And of course, I had some chicken nuggets for dinner.

Day 5: Magic Kingdom and the Airport

My mom and I were up bright and early once again for rope drop, but this time we didn’t really have an agenda.  We just wanted to take in as much as we could on our last day.  But first, we had to make our first stop at a Disney Starbucks!

IMG_3319

We also stopped at the Main Street Ice Cream Parlor to eat some cookie ice cream sandwiches on the hub grass!

IMG_3323IMG_3321

I also had to take some cute pics with the little statues in the hub!

IMG_3325E873A261-87D8-4E99-B646-3743DE3B1A66

IMG_3324

We then took one last ride around the Magic Kingdom on the train before heading back to the hotel to be picked up for the airport.

IMG_3329IMG_3331

We had such an awesome trip, and I can’t wait for our next one.  I’m going to Disney World for my 21st birthday next May, and honestly I’m already planning it!  Thank you so much for reading, everyone!

Leave a Reply

