Chicago Trip 2017

Hi guys!  So for Valentine’s Day this year, my amazing boyfriend surprised me with a weekend away in Chicago.  Our trip was this past weekend, and it was such a blast.  It was so nice to get away from campus and to just explore and hang out in the city together.  I thought I would share a little itinerary post with you guys, so here is what we did for those three days!

Day 1: March 3

So Kyle’s spring break had already started (where as I still have to wait another week ugh) so he drove to my school and picked me up once I finished all of my classes on Friday.  Once we got some gas, we drove the 2 hours to Chicago.

We checked into our hotel and went straight to our lunch spot: Portillo’s!  I got a chopped salad and cake shake while Kyle got a chili dog and cake shake.

 

IMG_3216fullsizeoutput_10c0

After our delicious lunch, we headed over to the mall closest to our hotel to do a little shopping before heading back to the hotel and resting up before we headed out for the night.

That night, we headed down to Navy Pier for a little walk and beautiful view of the city at night.  It was FREEZING so there wasn’t a lot of people there, which actually made it kind of nice.

fullsizeoutput_10c4fullsizeoutput_10c5

We also took a ride on the little ferris wheel there which gave a BEAUTIFUL view of the city at night!

IMG_3218fullsizeoutput_125aIMG_3221

Next we headed to our dinner location: The Public House.  Now, this deserves a little explanation.  So, Kyle’s cousin goes to Northwestern and told us about this amazing restaurant that did these really cool cake shakes.  So obviously we wanted to go.  When we got there, we realized it was a bar.  They let us in since it was before 9 (anyone under 21 had to be out of the bar by 9) and we sat down to eat.  This place was really good, but definitely not good for a “date night” kind of evening.  It was loud, we could barely hear each other, and it made me a little anxious because we were kind of being rushed out since we were under 21.  But honestly, if you’re 21, go because these shakes were insane!  I got the vanilla shake, and Kyle got the chocolate one.

IMG_3220

After dinner we headed back to the hotel, showered, and went straight to bed to get ready for our one full day in the city!

Day 2: March 4

So today we started out with breakfast at Yolk.  If you are in Chicago, seriously go here for breakfast!  It was so incredibly delicious.  The food was different, but not in a weird way.  In a way where I literally wanted to try everything on the menu.  Kyle got something called the South Beach which was literally a half a pineapple hollowed out and filled with pineapple chunks, strawberries, yogurt, and granola.  I got red velvet french toast which was literally red velvet cake with a cream cheese swirl and oh my god it was delicious!

IMG_3222

Next, we started walking towards Millenium Park to take some pictures by the Bean.

fullsizeoutput_10c6fullsizeoutput_10c8fullsizeoutput_10c9fullsizeoutput_10ca

The walk to the Bean itself was windy and FREEZING, and honestly we couldn’t wait to get inside!

fullsizeoutput_10cf

IMG_3224

Millenium Park was surprisingly warmer than the city, so we decided to hang around for a little and take a couple of pictures.

fullsizeoutput_10cbfullsizeoutput_10d0IMG_3226

After exploring Millenium Park, we headed over to the Magnificent Mile to do some shopping!  Although I did see the most beautiful pair of leggings EVER at Under Armour, I held off because I knew I wanted to get something when we went to Vineyard Vines later that night.

After shopping for literally hours, we went back to the hotel and laid down.  Since I still had to go to school on Monday, I worked on a little homework, and then we got ready for our early dinner.  My Valentine’s Day gift to Kyle was a dinner reservation at Joe’s Stone Crab.  Kyle went there in Miami over spring break last year and said it was literally one of the best meals he had ever had.  When I saw that there was one in Chicago right across the street from our hotel, I knew we had to go there!  There were only reservations for 4:00 pm, but honestly I was happy with this time.  It was not crowded, it was quiet, and honestly we had the best time.

We split the crab bisque as our appetizer.  Now, I hate sea food.  I will not eat it.  But as part of his gift, I promised Kyle I would try some of his and holy cow it was good.  Even I liked it, and that is saying something.  For dinner he had the medium crab claws, and I had a filet mignon and we both split a side of mac and cheese.  This meal was so so incredibly and Kyle absolutely loved it, making the experience even more enjoyable for me!

IMG_3234

We then headed back to the hotel, changed, and went back out to do a little more shopping.  This time we went off of Magnificent Mile and down Rush St. a little to go to Lulu Lemon and Vineyard Vines.  With my poor college student budget, I could not afford anything at Lulu Lemon, but I did get the coolest shirt at Vineyard Vines.  the whale is Chicago’s flag and honestly I’m obsessed.

We then headed over to the Sprinkles Cupcake ATM to get a little dessert to bring back to the hotel.

fullsizeoutput_124e

This was my first time at a Sprinkles, and I was SO impressed.  We got 4 cupcakes to split and I was so so happy with them and can’t wait to go again when I’m in Disney World next week!

Day 3: March 5

Our last day ):  So today we started out with breakfast at the Protein Bar.  I am not a health nut.  Like, at all.  But I really wanted to try an acai bowl.  Kyle loves health food so he was into it, and we decided to try that for breakfast this morning.  Final verdict?  I hated it.  Kyle thought it was hilarious, but we now know not to let me eat outside of my comfort zone ever again…It looks really pretty on camera though.

IMG_3237

Since I didn’t really get to eat, we headed down the street to Stan’s donut shop where I got a Captain Crunch donut and was much happier!

IMG_3238

After we finished our donuts, it was time to head to the John Hancock building to do the Tilt!  I had done the Sky Deck a couple of years before but had never done the Tilt before.  And honestly, it was AMAZING.  I am so scared of heights, but as long as you look out and not down, you’ll be fine.  This honestly was probably one of the best things I’ve ever done and the view was AMAZING.

IMG_3239IMG_3240IMG_3241IMG_3242

A4ED05D6-283B-42D1-9AA7-FEC55A466CD2fullsizeoutput_124d

After enjoying the beautiful view, there was one more thing that we had planned before heading home: Shake Shack!  I am not a huge hamburger or ground beef fan (as you can tell from this post, I’m incredibly picky), but Shake Shack burgers are to die for.  Plus, their salted caramel shake gives me life, honestly.

fullsizeoutput_124f

Unfortunately, after our lunch it was time to drop me back off at school.  I had the most amazing weekend away and wish that it could have been longer, but these three days were amazing.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

